Watch Blood Moon Total Lunar Eclipse 2014 Live (video)

The second Full Lunar Eclipse of 2014 known as the “Blood Moon” will take place on Wednesday, October 8, 2014. The total eclipse will start at 6:25 a.m. ET (5:25 a.m. CT, 4:25 a.m. MT and 3:25 a.m. PT) and continue until 7:24 a.m. ET (4:24 a.m. PT). A lunar eclipse occurs when the sun, Earth and the full moon form a nearly straight line so that the full moon passes through the Earth’s shadow, called the umbra.

Blood Moon Total Lunar Eclipse 2014

blood moon

If you’re in the central or western parts of the USA, you’ll see the total eclipse high in a dark sky well before sunrise.  Meanwhile, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said the eclipse would begin at 4:14 p.m. (Philippine Standard Time) and end at 9:35 p.m.

Watch NASA’s live coverage:

What Can You Say?

comments

About news2talk